Musings of a Badger

Technology, innovation and utility

Posted in Clients, Digital, Innovation, Musings by musingsofabadger on November 15, 2009

I was chatting to a friend the other day and we started discussing the frequency/trend of agencies producing digital campaigns led by technological innovation rather than a strong core idea.  Now I like innovation and I like digital so I can see why creatives are often keen to get the latest gadget, app etc into their new campaign, but at the same time, we need to remember who the audience is and what the client needs from the brief.  I’ve stated elsewhere in this blog that innovation is important online but I’d add that its pointless if the audience doesnt want it!  Facebook apps are great but not if your targeting my Mum (I wont explore her specific profile here but suffice to say she’s not running about with an iPhone publishing her latest tweets).  If the innovation is USEFUL and is in a form that the larger part of the target audience is engaged with then we should go ahead and push forward, but if its just cool to use in our digital bubble and we’ve just got awards entries in mind then I’d suggest a sense check and re-read of the brief is in order.

Leave a Reply

